## **OACP Standing Committees**

Awards:  Rick Stokoe – Boardman – Co-Chair rstokoe@cityofboardman.com  Rick Schmitz – Aumsville – Co-Chair rschmitz@aumsville.us	This committee solicits, reviews, and decides on OACP award recipients for both the annual conference and special occasions.
Conference, Education & Training:  David Rash – Hubbard – Co-Chair drash@cityofhubbard.org  Mitch Hicks – Columbia River Inter Tribal – Co-Chair hicm@critfc.org	This committee is responsible for coordinating all education and training opportunities at the conferences, develops the conference format, identifies/recruits viable conference venues, and coordinates conference responsibilities.
Executive Resources:  Jim Band – Oregon City – Co-Chair jband@orcity.org  Jeff Groth – Sherwood – Co-Chair grothj@sherwoodoregon.gov	This committee is responsible for developing programs and offering resources through the OACP that assist law enforcement leaders and local government partners. This committee continues to update and manage the Agency Review program and Linebacker program and is tasked with developing other programs to assist agencies.
Intergovernmental and Legislative:  Jim Ferraris –Woodburn – Co-Chair OACP-President@policechief.org  John Teague – Keizer– Co-Chair teaguej@keizer.org	With the assistance of the OACP executive staff, this committee develops an OACP legislative agenda for each legislative session. The time commitment can be extensive and may involve meetings (in Salem during session), requests for review of legislation and opportunities to testify before legislative committees.
Membership:  Jason Schermerhorn – Cannon Beach – Co-Chair schermerhorn@ci.cannon-beach.or.us  Matt Workman – Warrenton PD – Co-Chair mworkman@ci.warrenton.or.us	This committee is responsible for recruiting new members and for receiving, reviewing and forwarding applications for membership to the Board. This committee will also review memberships that may come into question by other members of the Association due to actions that would bring discredit to the Association.
Oregon Accreditation Alliance:  Laurie Taylor – APCO – Co-Chair <u>ltaylor@wccca.com</u> Jim Anglemier – Silverton PD – Co-Chair <u>janglemier@silverton.or.us</u>	This committee serves as the Oregon Accreditation Alliance board overseeing work of the OAA, adopting accreditation standards, establishing the accreditation process, and seeking to increase the number of accredited Oregon agencies.

	T
Policies:	The purpose of this committee is to assist in the sharing of polices with Oregon Law Enforcement agencies. The committee will collect individual policies and policy manuals for other agencies to access in the members-only section of the OACP website.
Retired Members:  Les Youngbar – Lake Oswego PD (Retired) – Co-Chair lgyoungbar@gmail.com  Jim Porter – Bend PD (Retired) – Co-Chair jdporter97703@gmail.com	This committee is responsible for representing the needs of retired members as they relate to membership in the OACP and for encouraging participation in the Association by retired members. This committee also gathers historical information about the association and presents information to the current association members.
Scholarship – Community Action:  Matt Workman – Warrenton – Chair mworkman@ci.warrenton.or.us	This committee oversees the distribution of scholarships for current and prospective college students who are pursuing a career in the criminal justice field, scholarships to the OACP Annual Conference for chiefs of police and for retired members with financial need, and a scholarship for an OACP member to attend the IACP Conference.
Second in Command/LEELI:  Geoff Spalding – Astoria PD – Co-Chair gspalding@astoria.or.us  Mark Daniel – Mt. Angel PD – Co-Chair mdaniel@ci.mt-angel.or.us	The purpose of this committee is to evaluate opportunities within the OACP to expand participation and contributions by those aspiring to become a chief of police and/or who are in a position to serve as a second-in-command or acting chief. The committee will further the mentoring and development of future chiefs of police through program development, training and other areas that will help build a generation of well qualified, highly ethical police chiefs. Committee meetings primarily take place during the ELTS and Annual Conference, but additional meetings may be scheduled. Committee work is also conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.
Small Agency:  Ken Rueben – Philomath – Chair  Ken.rueben@philomathoregon.gov	The purpose of this committee is to provide a forum to discuss matters that specifically affect small agencies and to represent those matters to the Association. Small agencies are generally described as agencies of 15 sworn officers or less and serving a population of 5,000 or less. This definition is intended to be inclusive, and not exclusive, of any agency small enough to have unique challenges because of their size and/or geographic location. Committee members may also organize training specific to small agencies. Committee meetings primarily take place during the ELTS and Annual Conference, but additional meetings may be scheduled. Committee work is also conducted by phone and internet, including by email and the OACP Committee Management System.
Dress Uniform and Ceremony:  Robert Mason – Independence – Chair Mason.robert@ci.independence.or.us	This committee reviews and makes recommendations for standardization of dress uniforms and ceremonial duties for chiefs of police and command staff of municipal agencies.